Hello Mudda … Hello Fadda …

… Hello Enbrel … My liver had two bad tests in a row and my Rheumy pulled the Methotrexate (MTX).  I had been feeling very run down, and after stopping the MTX I immediately felt awesomely amazing … for about 3 weeks.  When the MTX finally left my system I then realized that the Humira was barely working for half a week, leaving me in a bad way for the remaining 1 1/2 weeks until the next bi-weekly injection.

On to Enbrel, a weekly self-injection, hoping that the “down days” are less.  I managed through the transition with some very low doses of prednisone, I have such a low tolerance for this stuff that 2mgs a day works for me.  The first few weeks seem promising, although there is an almost overwhelming sense of tiredness that has set in.  After reading this post on R.A.Warrior‘s site I realize this may be due to removing MTX from the mix of meds.

Hopefully this all resolves sooner than later and I have the energy to get to the pool, and to enjoy my garden this summer.

2 thoughts on “Hello Mudda … Hello Fadda …

  1. abritabroad

    Hi RA Violinist here!! Just diagnosed 4 weeks ago. On my second 20 course of Pred. Naturally I fell great and am sitting here working on my music…mostly recording and editing. I am terrified of the day, in a week or so when the pred. is gone. Last time my left hand swelled right back up:( I do hope that you are tackling the cello. sometimes I just look at my left hand and say “50 years of training you to do what you are told and now this grrrrr) I have just had my first lab test and all is ok so I will continue with the MTX. Happy gardening to you. No pool for me but I am off to the Hot Tub now before bedtime. Thank you so much for sharing….RA argh dammit !

    Reply
    1. R.A. Cellist Post author

      Thank you for visiting, and sorry you are joining this club. You are the 2nd violinist to reach out to me, if we can find a violist we’ll start a quartet! I’m still playing several concerts a month – some days are difficult but I’ve learned to “make hay when the sun shines”. Good luck with everything!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

