Methotrexate Update

I have been taking a 10mg dose of Metho for two months and wanted to share my experience with it.  The 1st time I was nervous, as many are.  Reactions were a severe night sweat (though it could have been the menopause), and severe brain fog the next day.

Now my Metho routine is as follows … I take the meds on Sunday afternoon as my work schedule allows me to take it slow on Mondays. Prep dinner Sunday morning, believe me you won’t want to do it later.  Take the pills with a late lunch (2-3pm).  Start to feel sleepy around 6-7pm.  Reheat dinner and relax!  I have an overwhelming urge to go to bed around 9pm, and sleep until 8-9am.

Next day I am up and about but definitely moving slow – still a little foggy, but I think I am getting used to it.  My joints have a “fiery” sensation (anyone remember Pop Rocks?), but oddly it feels good. Start to perk up again around 3-4pm.  On Tues and Wed I feel great, much less joint discomfort, and by Saturday joint discomfort has gradually increased and I look forward to taking the meds again on Sunday.  Have had no stomach upset, but I take every kind of pill (including vitamins) with food unless instructed otherwise. No further night sweats.

Changes to my lifestyle to accommodate this medicine include severely reducing caffeine and alcohol, as well as spicy foods (better safe than sorry on the last one!).  So far I believe I am doing well on this medicine and my RA symptoms are reduced overall from two months ago.  I also take Folic Acid, 10 mg of Prednisone, fish oil, a multi-vitamin, and swim 2-3x per week for exercise.

I will never be as I once was, but isn’t that a part of life?

3 thoughts on “Methotrexate Update

  1. Lb0313

    I’m about 9 months ahead of you on this MTX game, and I wanted to yell over my shoulder that your description of the after effects, ESP the pop rocks, is spot on accurate for me as well…

    I’m very much enjoying reading your blog. Thanks for taking the time!

    Reply
  2. R.A. Cellist Post author

    Thanks for commenting LB! Hey – have you noticed a different in the MTX effectiveness if you take the Folic Acid on the same day as the MTX? I seem to have a better result that week if I skip the Folic on MTX day.

    Reply
  3. Lb0313

    I also skip the folic on the MTX day! I don’t know if it makes a difference or not, but it seems logical to me and makes me feel like I am controlling something in this crazy process….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

