Buh-bye 2012!

I am so glad the holidays are over. Is that a bad thing? I secretly don’t like vacations either, or weekends, or surprises. Basically I am a creature of habit, I like it when things are the same. This is what I don’t like about RA … it keeps changing, it pops up in new places unexpectedly, every week is a new thing.

The end of the holiday season is also the end of my concert season for the year. I am super pleased that I made it through a very heavy month of rehearsals and concerts. Even though I felt I was not up to my full technical playing ability, I think it was close enough that nobody but me could tell I was a bit off my game.

Life is a series of changes and accomodations. Even without RA wouldn’t my playing ability change and decline over the years? Don’t we all make changes to accomodate our age … eyesight … finances … weather? Should I take these changes with a zen-like acceptance, or a warrior fight?

Time for the resolutions! I resolve to keep my eyes open and remain flexible in 2013.

ps – a heartwarming RA article!  I would like all Rheumatologists to spend some time in this suit.
http://www.everydayhealth.com/rheumatoid-arthritis/a-doctor-feels-his-rheumatoid-arthritis-patients-pain.aspx?xid=aol_eh-arthvid_9_20121224_&aolcat=AJA&icid=maing-grid7%7Cmain5%7Cdl15%7Csec1_lnk3%26pLid%3D249753

5 thoughts on “Buh-bye 2012!

  1. Polly

    Hmm ,,, I wonder how one combined zen-like acceptance with warrior fight – or indeed if one can? I think that’s what we all strive for but I’m not sure how you get there!

    Reply
    1. R.A. Cellist Post author

      I think one of the best examples of Zen Warrior can be seen in the great classic film “7 Samurai” by Akira Kurasawa. Don’t wish to fight, choose your battles wisely, and when you have to fight do so with honor. OK – and the chopstick scene at the end is pretty cool too! If I could do that … wow! ;-D

      Reply
  2. Marianna

    Thanks for sharing the video; I’ve shared a link on to a Third Age Suit in this post: http://rheumfuloftips.wordpress.com/2011/11/02/how-does-it-feel/, which isn’t as comprehensive as the suit the doctor dons.

    I vote for zen-like acceptance. Fighting triggers the stress response, something those of us with RA don’t need to do. I’ve learned that I feel better, have fewer flare-ups, and better pain management when I accept, then do the things that augment my health and well-being.

    Happy New Year! Sending you platinum wishes – the things you would wish for yourself. 🙂

    By the way, I love that beautiful image on you header.

    Reply
    1. R.A. Cellist Post author

      Thank you Marianna. The picture reminds me that no cellist is an island. I have found that with the help of others (including those of you in cyber world) I have felt the most happy and contented.

      Reply
  3. Pingback: #431 – How Does It Feel? – Part 2 | A Rheumful of Tips

Leave a Reply

