Getting ready to get ready for my new life with R.A.

The husband was away on business so I spent the entire weekend reading about Rheumatoid Arthritis – buying books, following blogs, getting educated.  Started with a book “Everything You Need To Know” from the Hospital For Special Surgery on RA, only $1.25 for a Kindle download. Except for my sister in Ohio who is a registered nurse, I now have to explain my new situation to the rest of my family.

  • It is not like regular arthritis and I am not too young to get it
  • It is not contagious and not necessarily hereditary
  • It is an ongoing autoimmune condition for which there is no cure
  • Don’t worry it could be a lot worse and there are a lot of ways to manage it.

I tried playing my cello today, I have not played in over a month.  My third finger on the left hand was not working properly and was hurting so I stopped after just a few minutes.  I also started the Methotrexate today, a first dose of 10mg.  I have 14 different rehearsals and performances dates next month.  If I can’t get these symptoms under control enough to play professional again in two weeks I will have to start cancelling work.

Read a LOT of the RA Warrior’s blog site learning about so many others who have similar stories to my own, and sadly so many who are in much worse condition than I am.  So many young people, people in wheelchairs, people getting their joints replaced … wow.  I would like to pretend that this is not happening, but it is and I have to deal with this now.

2 thoughts on “Getting ready to get ready for my new life with R.A.

  1. Marianna

    I’ve lived with this disease for over 1/2 my life. Times when I thought I couldn’t take it anymore, when my mom would have to get me dressed because I couldn’t do it myself. Times when I would drag my butt into the classroom and teach a full day, go home, do some prep and fall into bed (and not sleep), to do it all over again the next day.

    I’ve also had years with no flare-ups, I continued on doing activities I loved, if somewhat modified.

    In a round about way I’m saying that you’ll have bad days and you’ll have good days. Fortunately, there is so much more information and treatment options available now than there was when I was diagnosed 35 years ago.

    Words that have had a big impact on me: stress, fear, patience, acceptance, awareness, breathing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

